How to delete duplicate photos in iOS 16

iOS 16, the new version of the operating system for iPhone, includes interesting new features in the Photos app. Among them is the possibility of blocking several of the most sensitive folders, such as the one in which hidden images or recently deleted images are located, through Face ID, or a way to cut out subjects from a photograph. Apple, however, has also included an interesting function that will allow us not only to have a more organized gallery, but also to clean and free up space in the internal memory of the device. It is about the possibility of delete duplicate photos

Apple, specifically, includes a section in the Photos app that shows all those images or videos that are the same, either because the user has downloaded them twice, or for any other reason. iOS 16, moreover, does not completely remove one of the two images, but merges them.

The company Explain that "fusion combines relevant data such as captions, keywords and favorites into a single photo with the highest quality." Also, duplicate images are replaced by the merged one in the different albums. But how can we delete or merge a duplicate photo?

So you can delete a duplicate photo on your iPhone with iOS 16

The first thing you should do is access the Photos app on your iPhone. Next, select the 'Albums' tab that appears at the bottom of the screen, and scroll down to the 'Utilities' section. After, Click on the 'Duplicates' folder. There you will see all those repeated images, as well as relevant information, such as the date or size.

To delete duplicate photos, simply click on the 'Merge' button that appears on the right side of the screen. Finally, confirm the action. If you prefer, you can also select several images at the same time and click on the 'Merge' option displayed at the bottom.

Another option is completely erase duplicate photos and therefore leave only one available in the photo library. To do this, hold down on the photo and click on the 'Delete' option. Then confirm the action. Now, you should keep in mind that you could inadvertently delete the image with the highest quality, so merging is always the most recommended option.

In any case, all images discarded from the merger, as well as those manually removed, will appear in the 'Recently Deleted' folder and will remain in the same for at least 30 days.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Go up